Arrival and first days in New York - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Marvin Wolthof - WaarBenJij.nu Arrival and first days in New York - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Marvin Wolthof - WaarBenJij.nu

Arrival and first days in New York

Door: Marvin Wolthof

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marvin

02 April 2014 | Verenigde Staten, New York

This is the first blog I will post about the Bellingham trip and this will also be the first one in English (this is because of school).

I left LA on Sunday 30th of March and in the afternoon I arrived at JFK international airport New York. It surprised me that there were no security checks at JFK. This was probably because it was a domestic flight, and there were security checks at LAX. When I left the airport I went waiting in line for a taxi (yellow cab), this was quite an experience. The driver asked me were I needed to be, I had an adress but not a direction (like: manhattan, harlem, brooklyn etc.), however the driver appeared to know the city by heart, cause he brought me exactly were I needed to be. The driver was difficult to understand because he was from India, I guess. The first sign of New York's many cultures and etnicity.

When I arrived at the hotel, I got to sit down and take some rest after quite a long day of being awake and travelling.

The next day, we got op early because we were planning to go to Times Square, this was absolutely insane. The buildings over there are massive and huge. You feel so small when you see all the people walking there and all these massive concrete towers surrounding you. We read that it was free to go to the top of the Rockefeller building, yet we had to pay admission, so we decided not to do that. We went to Central Park instead, the funny thing is, that Central Park gets a lot of visits by businesspeople who want to relax a bit. I assumed it would be impossible because of the noise of the city surrounding it, yet there was a lot of silence and relaxed atmosphere. After this day we went back to the hotel, the evening wasn't that interesting, we went to an Italian restaurant which was recommended by the hotelowner. Then we did some shopping and went to bed.

This is how the first two days looked like, we had much fun so far and I enjoy every single bit of this trip so far!

I'll try to add a new blog tomorrow ;)

Marvin

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marvin

Actief sinds 11 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 229
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4094

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2014 - 26 April 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: